top of page
Official Website of Historical Fiction Author


Book 1 of the Charlemagne's Cross Series
In Stores Now!
My Books
My Books

Ormstunga Saga

Son of Anger

Raid of the Wolves

Chaos of the Gods

The Charlemagne's Cross Series

Odin's Betrayal

Loki's Deceit

My Story

Donovan Cook is the author of the well-received Ormstunga Saga series which combines fast-paced narrative with meticulously researched history of the Viking world, and is inspired by his interest in Norse Mythology. His first novel, Son of Anger, was published in 2020, which follows the journey of Ulf Bear-Slayer as he seeks to avenge his family’s deaths, and has since written two more books in the Ormstunga Saga series.


Donovan was born in South Africa but raised in England, where his fascination with Medieval History, especially the Vikings and Norse Mythology, took root. In his free time, Donovan loves to read, watch rugby, and go for walks with his wife and their French Bulldog, Joey.


In 2022, Donovan signed a four-book contract with Boldwood and the first novel of his new series, Odin's Betrayal, was published in April 2023.


A fabulous Norse tale of family secrets, betrayal and conflict right up until the very last page - I loved it!

NetGalley Review for

Odin's Betrayal

Runes at the famous Rök runestone, Sweden_edited_edited.jpg
News & events

Great news for fans of the Charlemagne's Cross Series!
Loki's Deceit, book two of the series, is out on the 28th of September 2023. The ebook is available for pre-order on Amazon now (visit the book page for more details).
And stay tuned for the cover reveal!

Subscribe to My Newsletter

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page